WQCS Header Background Image
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Treasure Coast Essay

Our own swim champs -- again

Ben Franklin said that nothing is certain except death and taxes.  We can add a third certainty: That Indian River State College will win the National Junior College Athletic Association Swimming and Diving Championship.  Our men and women did it again and, appropriately enough, at the outdoor Aquatic Complex on the college’s main campus in Fort Pierce.  In the four-day meet, which attracted 16 other teams from around the country, the Pioneers won every swimming race.  For the men, it was the 40th consecutive national title – the longest unbroken championship win streak in any collegiate sport.  Alec Scott and Josh Oathout were named Male Swimmers of the Year.  For the women, it was the 32nd consecutive national title and 36th overall.  Yurie Nakano, born in Japan, and Barbara Caraballo, from Puerto Rico, were named co-Female Swimmers of the Year.  First-year head coach Sion Brinn said the Pioneers would “do their jobs,” and they did.  Brinn, a 40-year-old native of Jamaica, swam for Indian River and in 1993 was the Male Swimming of the Year.  On the third day of the meet, the temp dropped into the 50s.  Chilly!  Made no difference to the Pioneers.  They were hot!  For 88.9 FM, this is Paul Janensch.