Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Governor Declares State of Emergency for 24 Counties, Urges Floridians to Prepare

Governor DeSantis has also requested a federal pre-landfall Emergency Declaration

Tallahassee - Friday September 23, 2022: Governor DeSantis Friday issued Executive Order 22-218, declaring a State of Emergency for 24 counties in the potential path of Tropical Depression 9.

The Treasure Coast Counties of Indian River, St. Lucie, Martin, and Osceola are all included in the declaration.

Additionally, the Governor has requested a federal pre-landfall Emergency Declaration in anticipation of impacts from the storm. This declaration will make available important resources and support, as well as free up funding sources for emergency protective measures. Under this this emergency order, members of the Florida National Guard will be activated and on standby awaiting orders.

“Today, I signed an Executive Order issuing a State of Emergency due to the threat of Tropical Depression 9,” said Governor Ron DeSantis. “This storm has the potential to strengthen into a major hurricane and we encourage all Floridians to make their preparations. We are coordinating with all state and local government partners to track potential impacts of this storm.”

Tropical Depression 9 has the potential to strengthen and become a major hurricane in the coming days and the Governor is urging Floridians and their families to begin preparing and ensuring their family emergency supply kit is ready and stocked with food, water, and medicine. By declaring a state of emergency, Governor DeSantis is ensuring that state and local governments have ample time, resources and flexibility to prepare.

To find resources to help you and your family prepare for this storm, visit:

The severity and track of Tropical Depression 9 will continue to evolve. Because of this and the potential for dangerous storm surge, heavy rainfall, strong winds, flash flooding, and the potential for isolated tornadic activity, Governor DeSantis issued the State of Emergency for the following 24 counties:

• Indian River
• St. Lucie
• Osceola
• Martin
• Brevard
• Broward
• Charlotte
• Collier
• DeSoto
• Glades
• Hardee
• Hendry
• Highlands
• Hillsborough
• Lee
• Manatee
• Miami-Dade
• Monroe
• Okeechobee
• Palm Beach
• Pasco
• Pinellas
• Polk
• Sarasota

Follow @FLSERT and @GovRonDeSantis on Twitter for live updates.

Visit to find information on emergency preparedness.